Forkenbrock Series on Public Policy


Adapting to Weather Extremes: the Economic Impact in Iowa

HyVee Hall, Des Moines, IA
Wednesday, December 11th, 2013 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Drought Field to Flood Road

Over the past few years Iowa has been experiencing swings from one weather extreme to another (severe storms, floods and drought). These extreme fluctuations are expensive and are negatively affecting Iowa agriculture, businesses, government and people.

For more information, contact us here.



  • Chris Anderson

    Assistant Director, ISU Climate Science Program, Iowa State University

  • Dee Brown

    Director of Energy Delivery Operations Support, Alliant Energy

  • Jacqueline Comito, PhD

    Program Manager, Iowa Learning Farms; Director, Water Rocks!

  • T.M. Franklin Cownie

    Mayor, City of Des Moines

  • Rick Cruse

    Professor of Agronomy, Director, Iowa Water Center, Iowa State University

  • Peter Damiano

    Director, Public Policy Center

  • Nick Gerhart

    Insurance Commissioner of the State of Iowa

  • Chuck Gipp

    Director, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

  • Tim Hall

    Chief of the Geological & Water Survey Bureau/Hydrology Coordinator, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

  • Jack Hatch

    Senator, State of Iowa, District 33

  • Daniel Kelley

    Representative, Iowa State House District 29

  • David Miller

    Director of Research and Commodity Services, Iowa Farm Bureau Chief Science Officer, AgraGate Climate Credits Corporation

  • Brenda Nations

    Environmental Coordinator, City of Iowa City

  • Bill Northey

    Secretary, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

  • Bruce Rastetter

    President, Board of Regents, State of Iowa

  • Mark Schouten

    Director, Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management

  • Bill Stowe

    CEO and General Manager, Des Moines Water Works

  • Aaron Strong

  • David Swenson

    Associate Scientist, Department of Economics Iowa State University

  • Paul Trombino, III

    Director, Iowa Department of Transportation

  • Larry Weber

    Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Iowa, Edwin B. Green Chair in Hydraulics, College of Engineering, University of Iowa, Director, IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering, University of Iowa

This symposium is sponsored by the University of Iowa Public Policy Center's Forkenbrock Series on Public Policy, with support from the Iowa Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR), and co-sponsored by the University of Iowa Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research (CGRER), University of Iowa Hydroscience and Engineering (IIHR), the University of Iowa School of Urban and Regional Planning, the Iowa Water Center, and the Iowa State University Climate Science Program.





Co-Sponsored by:






Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Leslie Gannon at (319) 335-6817 or