Iowa Social Science Research Center
 

Workshops

 

Fall 2017 workshops


Click on the title of the workshop for more information and to register. 


Introduction to ArcGIS
Thursday, Sept. 7, 5:30-6:30 p.m.
243 Jessup Hall (JH)

 

Introduction to R
Friday, Sept. 8, 1:30-2:20 p.m.
15 Schaeffer Hall (SH)

 

Introduction to ArcGIS (repeated)
Monday, Sept. 11, 5:30-6:30 p.m.
243 Jessup Hall (JH)
 

Introduction to Python: Installation and Environment Setup
Wednesday, Sept. 13, 11:30 a.m.-12:20 p.m.
117 Macbride Hall (MH)

Introduction to Stata
Friday, Sept. 15, 1:30-2:20 p.m.
131 Schaeffer Hall (SH)

 

Data Visualization and map-making with ArcGIS
Monday, Sept. 18, 5:30-6:30 p.m.
243 Jessup Hall (JH)

 

ITS- Research Services Workshop: Intro to High Performance Computer (Using Neon) 
Wednesday, Sept. 20, 12:30-2:30 p.m.
IT Training Room (2523); UCC Conference Center

 

Data Management with R and Stata
Friday, Sept. 22, 1:30-2:20 p.m.
15 Schaeffer Hall (SH)

 

Introduction to Quantitative Analysis with R
Friday, Oct. 6, 1:30-2:20 p.m.
15 Schaeffer Hall (SH)

 

Accessing Data through ICPSR and CPRDC
Friday, Oct. 13, 2:30-3:20 p.m.
131 Schaeffer Hall (SH) 

 

Python Basics I: Variables, Data Structures and Control Logic
Wednesday, Oct. 4, 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
117 Macbride Hall (MH)
 

Data Visualization in Stata
Friday, Oct. 20, 1:30-2:20 p.m.
131 Schaeffer Hall (SH)

 

Python Basics II: Functions, External Libraries, File I/O
Wednesday, Oct. 25, 11:30 a.m.-12:20 p.m.
117 Macbride Hall (MH)

 

Introduction to Network Analysis with R 
Friday, Oct. 27, 10:30-11:20 a.m.
214 MacLean Hall (MLH)

 

Basic Data Visualization in R
Friday, Nov. 10, 1:30-2:20 p.m.
15 Schaeffer Hall (SH)

 

Network Analysis in Python: An intro to NetworkX
Wednesday, Nov. 15, 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
117 Macbride Hall (MH)
 

Model Interpretation and Visualization using Stata
Friday, Nov. 17, 1:30-2:20 p.m.
131 Schaeffer Hall (SH)