Tuesday, July 20th, 2010 8:30 AM to 9:00 AM



  • Jean Robillard

    Jean Robillard

    Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Iowa Health Care

    Jean E. Robillard is vice president for medical affairs for UI Health Care. He is charged with integrating planning and operations for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics; the Carver College of Medicine; and the University of Iowa Physicians, the state’s largest multi-specialty physician group practice. Previously, Dr. Robillard served as dean of the Carver College of Medicine. Before coming to Iowa he was chair and professor of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Michigan Medical School and physician-in-chief at C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital. Dr. Robillard holds BA and MD degrees from the University of Montreal. He is a pediatric nephrologist and has published more than 220 scientific papers during his career. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and in 2006 served as Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Board of Pediatrics.

  • David Carlyle

    David Carlyle

    Chair, Legislative Health Care Coverage Commission

    David Carlyle is a Board-Certified Family Physician and Hospice Medical Director in Ames, Iowa, as well as the chair of Iowa’s Legislative Healthcare Coverage Commission. For 15 years, he has served on legislative committees/commissions for the Iowa Academy of Family Physicians, the Iowa Medical Society, and the American Academy of Family Physicians. He was on the Tobacco Use Prevention and Control Commission of the State of Iowa for six year, two as Chair. Dr. Carlyle is also a former Chair of the Board of Directors of the Iowa Prescription Drug Corporation, a non-profit entity that provides medicines to the uninsured and on the Board of Directors of FAMMED Political Action Committee. His honors include the American Academy of Family Physicians’ 1999 Public Health award, and two Iowa Senate Commendations for his children’s insurance and anti-tobacco efforts. He was recently appointed to the United States Advisory Board to the Consumer Operated and Orientated Plan (CO-OP) Program. He received his BA from the university of Notre Dame and his MD from the University of Iowa.