Forkenbrock Series on Public Policy


Energy and Climate Change in the Midwest: Creating Opportunities in the New Economy

University of Iowa Athletic Club Iowa City, Iowa
Friday, October 16th, 2009 8:00 AM to Saturday, October 17th, 2009 4:45 PM

This two-day symposium provided a forum for dialogue about new energy opportunities being created in response to the growing challenge of climate change. The event featured national experts from an array of backgrounds including engineers, industry representatives, policymakers, economists, and agriculture experts. Topics covered included the state of the science, economic impacts, renewable energy, energy efficiency, agricultural issues, and policy responses at the local, state, and federal levels.


  • Ellen Anderson

    Minnesota State Senator

  • Robert B. Berntsen

    Chair, Iowa Utilities Board

  • Robert Brown

    Anson Marston Distinguished Professor Gary and Donna Hoover Chair in Mechanical Engineering Iowa State University

  • P. Barry Butler

    Executive Vice President and Provost, University of Iowa

  • Jonathon Carlson

    Professor of Law & International Studies Senior Associate to the President University of Iowa

  • Greg Carmichael

    Director, Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research, University of Iowa EPSCoR proposal

  • W. Stuart Crine

    State Building Code Commissioner Iowa Department of Public Safety

  • Peter Damiano

    Director, Public Policy Center Preventive and Community Dentistry University of Iowa

  • Bill Dotzler

    Iowa State Senator

  • Jennifer Easler

    Attorney, Office of Consumer Advocate

  • William J. Fehrman

    President & CEO MidAmerican Energy Company

  • Jeff Geerts

    Special Projects Manager Iowa Department of Economic Development

  • Pat Higby

    Energy Education and Outreach Coordinator, Center for Energy and Environmental Education (CEEE), College of Natural Sciences (CNS), University of Northern Iowa Iowa Energy Poll

  • Jason Hill

    Resident Fellow, Institute on the Environment University of Minnesota

  • Rob Hogg

    Iowa State Senator

  • Ralph Jacobson

    CEO, Innovative Power Systems

  • Jeff Kaufmann

    Iowa State Representative

  • David Loebsack

    U.S. Congressman

  • Sally Mason

    President, University of Iowa

  • Bill McAnally

    Chair of Industrial Technology, Director, Green Building Institute Iowa Central Community College

  • David Miller

    Director of Research and Commodity Services, Iowa Farm Bureau Chief Science Officer, AgraGate Climate Credits Corporation

  • Diane Munns

    Vice President of Regulatory Relations and Energy Efficiency MidAmerican Energy Company

  • Kevin Nordmeyer

    Director, The Iowa Energy Center

  • David Osterberg

    Clinical Professor, Occupational and Environmental Health University of Iowa

  • Kim Reynolds

    Iowa State Senator

  • David Swenson

    Associate Scientist, Department of Economics Iowa State University

  • Gene Takle

    Professor, Atmospheric Science and Agricultural Meteorology, Iowa State UniversityProfessor, Atmospheric Science and Agricultural Meteorology, Iowa State University

  • Roger W. Taylor

    Group Manager - State, Local & Tribal Initiatives National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

  • Roger Thomas

    Iowa State Representative

  • Greg Watkins

    Renewable Energy Planner Iowa Office of Energy Independence

  • Thomas Wright

    Executive Director of Studies The Chicago Council on Global Affairs


  • Iowa Department of Economic Development
  • Iowa Department of Natural Resources
  • Iowa Department of Public Health   
  • Iowa Energy Center 
  • Iowa Environmental Council
  • Iowa EPSCoR
  • Iowa Interfaith Power & Light
  • Iowa League of Cities
  • Iowa Municipal Utility Association
  • Iowa Office of Consumer Advocate
  • Iowa Office of Energy Independence
  • Iowa Policy Project
  • Iowa State Association of Counties 
  • Iowa State University Climate Science Initiative 
  • Iowa State University Extension
  • Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture
  • UNI Center for Energy and Environmental Education

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Leslie Gannon at (319) 335-6817 or