Daack-Hirsch Awarded 2019 Michael Brody Award for Service


Sandra Daack-Hirsch, associate professor in the College of Nursing, researcher in the PPC Health Policy Research Program, and Faculty Senate president, was awarded the 2019 Michael Brody Award for Service.

Dr. Daack-Hirsch has served in the International Society of Nurses in Genetics, the premier organization in her field of research, in various roles over two decades, including president. In this role, she was instrumental in working with Cigna, a global health insurance service company, to revise their policies to recognize genomics-certified nurses as covered providers in genetic counseling.

Daack-Hirsch's expertise has contributed to improved health of newborns and children in the state of Iowa, serving as member and as chair for the Center for Congenital and Inherited Disorders (CCID). The CCID is an advisory board to the Iowa Department of Health on statewide genetics services. In this role she led an initiative to develop a policy for the stroage of residual samples for research, which helps to maintain the integrity of the screening program as a clinical service, and allows for responsible research that is conducted in accordance with federal regulations.

Daack-Hirsch has demonstrated her leadership with the University of Iowa through faculty governance, including Faculty Senate and Council, the Faculty Organization within the College of Nursing, and Chair of Faculty Senate Ad Hoc Committee to Remove AAUP Sanctions.

Dr. Keela Herr, Kelting Professor of Nursing and associate dean for faculty at the UI College of Nursing, writes in her nomination of Daack-Hirsch, "...Dr. Daack-Hirsch has established a stellar record of outstanding service contributions and leadership to the College, University, State and Profession. I have described exemplars of her efforts that individually merit recognition, but when taken as a collective provide strong evidence of Dr. Daack-Hirsch's demonstration of the criteria for this most significant award for service."

The Michael Brody Award for Service is awarded to faculty in a tenure-­track, clinical-track, research-track or instructional-track position, whose service stands out as a set of exceptionally effective contributions to the University or its external constituencies, manifests exceptional imagination and dedication for improving the University or for meeting the needs of external constituents on its behalf, and extends over several years.