photo of boehmke on black background - name of award in white

Boehmke Receives Diversity & Inclusion Research Advancement Award


Fred Boehmke, director of the Iowa Social Science Research Center and senior research fellow in residence in the Politics and Policy Research Program, was among the inaugural winners of the American Political Science Association's (APSA) Diversity and Inclusion Research Advancement Awards.

Boehmke was selected for his project, "Creating an Indigenous Studies Dataverse," along with Rick Witmer of Creighton University. 

In October 2020 APSA awarded the inaugural APSA Diversity and Inclusion Research Advancement Awards to research projects in the following areas: Early Career Scholars and Indigenous Politics. A total of seven awards were made. This year the Research Advancement for Early Career Scholars Grant will support one research project in the amount of $5,000 and the Research Advancement for Indigenous Politics Grant will support six research projects for a combined total award amount of $10,500.

The new research advancement grants are a fulfillment of the APSA Diversity and Inclusion Program’s strategic plan to expand the reach of APSA’s support for the advancement of scholars from underrepresented groups and for research that examines political science phenomena affecting underserved communities and underrepresented groups. The new grants will complement APSA’s existing diversity and inclusion fellowships and grants—namely the APSA Diversity Fellowship Program (DFP) (formerly known as the Minority Fellowship Program, MFP), the Lee Ann Fujii APSA Diversity Fellowship Travel Grant, and the Fund For Latino Scholarship—providing additional research funding opportunities for scholars at multiple points in their professional careers. 

You can read about all the awardees and their projects here.