• Cwiertny on NSF RAPID Grant to Develop Pathogen-Killing PPE

    Thursday, June 4th, 2020

    David Cwiertny, with faculty at the College of Public Health and the University of Notre Dame, were awarded an NSF RAPID grant to develop safer PPE.

  • Summer Scholars Ekdale and Nithyanand Examine Online Radicalization

    Wednesday, May 27th, 2020

    The Public Policy center welcomes another of its summer scholars-in-residence teams, Brian Ekdale (associate professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication), and Rishab Nithyanand (assistant professor in Computer Science) to work on their “Measuring and Mitigating the Impact of Platform Algorithms and Policies on Online Radicalization” study, June 1 through June 26. 

  • Summer Scholars Rice and Lewis-Beck to Work on "Iowa Small Towns Project"

    Thursday, May 21st, 2020

    The Public Policy center welcomes the first of its summer scholars-in-residence teams, Colin Lewis-Beck (visiting assistant professor in the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science), and Tom Rice (professor and director of undergraduate studies in the Department of Political Science). Lewis-Beck and Rice will work on their “Iowa Small Towns Project” May 25 through June 5. 

  • Roof Receives Outstanding Community Contribution Award

    Monday, May 18th, 2020

    Jocelyn Roof, a student employee of the Public Policy Center (PPC), received the Outstanding Community Contribution by a Student Leader award. Roof was recognized for her efforts through "Hawk the Vote" to promote voter registration, education, awareness, and turnout, both among the student population and the broader community. Through large-scale events such as the mock caucus, meet the candidate events, and a post caucus event, Roof helped increase voter turnout among the 18 to 25 age group by nine percent, compared to 2016.

  • Peek-Asa and Tolbert Honored with Inaugural Distinguished University Professors Award

    Monday, May 18th, 2020

    Distinguished research fellows Corrine Peek-Asa and Caroline Tolbert were named the inaugural honorees of the University of Iowa's new award, the Distinguished University Professor award.

  • Parker Named to Big Ten Emerging Infectious Diseases Task Force

    Wednesday, May 6th, 2020

    Edith Parker, senior faculty affiliate in the Health Policy Research Program, was selected for the Big Ten's recently formed task force for emerging infectious diseases.

  • Gould Chosen for 2020 Honors Teaching Award

    Monday, May 4th, 2020

    David Gould was chosen for the 2020 Honors Teaching Award in the University of Iowa Honors Program.

  • Barnhardt Selected for University of California Class of Fellows

    Monday, May 4th, 2020

    Cassie Barnhardt was one of ten fellows selected for the 2020-2021 class at the University of California's National Center for Free Speech and Civic Engagement.

  • Cwiertny Co-Authors Study on Drinking Water in Buildings Unused During Pandemic

    Friday, May 1st, 2020

    David Cwiertny, director of the Public Policy Center's (PPC) Environmental Policy Research Program, helped co-author, "Considerations for Large Building Water Quality after Extended Stagnation," that studies the results of extended stagnation of water pipes, as buildings sit largely unused during the COVID-19 pandemic. When occupants return to buildings and begin using the water again, there is a potential for excessive amounts of lead, copper, or bacteria to have built up in the water. 

  • Rogers and Buresh Present as Panelists on COVID-19 in Iowa's Prisons

    Wednesday, April 29th, 2020

    The Iowa Harm Reduction Coalition (IHRC) hosted an online panel discussing carceral institutions in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic. Ethan Rogers, research associate in the Crime and Justice Policy Research Program, and Christopher Buresh, senior research fellow in the Transportation and Vehicle Safety Policy Research Program, were two of the panelists along with other experts.